Scattered, Smothered, and Covered

Yesterday I hopped an American Coach bus west to the exit before Alabama. I got off and the bus continued down I-20. The bus dropped me at a Waffle House and since I didn’t have my wallet, or anything except a backpack with a notebook, I didn’t get anything to eat. However, it did get me thinking that in all the emails I have written, not one has been about the Waffle House establishment. And in case you’re wondering, I was picked up there by someone (I knew) and they brought me back to Atlanta. I will meet back up with the buses on Sunday in San Diego.

-Shorthand = WA-HO
-They have served over 495 million waffles, but that doesn’t even hold a flame to the 1,527,602, 959.24 eggs. (Only part that is a little questionable is the .24)
-The first waffle house opened Labor Day 1955 in Avondale Estates, GA. That is so American.
-Food Network has named WaHo one of the Top 5 “Around the Clock Eats”. My favorite time to go is when it’s dark out and the creepers are romping
-When in doubt, Waffle House is open all day everyday (including all major holidays and festivals)
-Waffle House has it’s own museum located at 2719 East College Ave. Decatur, GA 30030. Open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday by appointment only
-Waffle House can be found in 25 states. Those states I can guess but do not know for certain
-Within a 50 mile radius of my 30327 zipcode there are 248 Waffle Houses.
-Interestingly, Waffle House does not have an advertising budget and relies solely on word of mouth and their giant signs to be read from the highway
-On their jukebox you can find their own unique hits including, Waffle Doo-Wop, Good Food Fast, and Waffle House Home
Leave a Reply

