You see Hopper, Nature has a certain order. The ants pick the food, the ants keep the food, and the grasshoppers leave!

I returned earlier this week from the last of my travels this summer to find my car infested with nasty ants. I ran my car through the car wash, hosed it down, sprayed Raid ant killer, and took it back through another car wash. I feel like my efforts were pretty successful and have only seen one ant since. However, after much investigation I learned that ants are rather resistant and even though I got rid of them, many of them probably survived the car washes.

-Myrmecophobia is the fear of ants. I don’t have that but I don’t like them.
-Ants have the largest brain and in the animal kingdom relative to its size. They can also lift 50X their weight and pull 30X their weight. True gladiators.
-Ants yawn and will stretch before beginning their day. Never witnessed this, nor do I care to.
-It’s really hard to  drown an ant because these resilient little bugs have extremely tiny breathing tubes which water can’t penetrate. Good to know.
-Some ants like to raid nests of other ants and take the workers as slaves.
-Ants have two stomachs, one for them and one to feed others. So I guess they regurgitate their food like a mommy bird.
-Some queen ants lick the eggs to make them hatch.
-The Hormiga culona (ants with the big butt) has been a delicacy in Columbia for centuries. Typically they are roasted in salt and eaten as a snack. Sounds like popcorn.
-An ant can survive for up to 2 weeks underwater. Someone should get an ant farm and try that.
-Ants are the longest living insect and they are mentioned twice in The Bible.
-Workers, on the average, live about one year. Some species may even last 5 years, but most amazing is the Queen can live for 20 years.
-Ants are everywhere. EVERYWHERE

Leave a Reply

